A Sticker for your Kisser

At the start of semester I purchased a gold lip sticker to wear to a Shapeshifter gig during re-orientation week! I had tried nail stickers before (see here), and one of my besties suggested I try lip stickers! At crazy-cheap eBay prices ($1.70NZD) I couldn’t say no. But unfortunately like most things in my life, it got thrown into my makeup draw never to be seen again. UNTIL NOW. I decided to finally try these bad boys and I must admit it was a little weird…

The packaging reads:
[ Shape your lips with your mouth wide open to the “AHH” shape. Next measure your lip length and cut on the dotted vertical lines. Then measure the depth of your lip staying outside your water line and cut on the horizontal line. ]

That easy huh?? It was all lies. 
lipsticker, lip tattoo, review, how to
The result? A mixed review… First of all, the lip shape did nowhere near fit the shape of my mouth, even with the option of cutting the edges. The cutting part was also mildly stressful as cutting off too much meant no return. The actual colour was more of a brownish leopard print than a gold which was disappointing. Also the definition between the sticker and your ‘water line’ was very exact so a sneaky peek of pink can always be seen (on my lips anyway). To apply it was literally like a temporary tattoo… you hold it on your lips and apply water. Weird. This had good point and bad points…

lip sticker, lip tattoo, how toThe good: It will stay on! I had to scrub like crazy to actually get this stuff off! If it was intended for a long night out it would definitely make the distance. They’re also super comfortable as they move with your lips. I forgot I was wearing them!

The bad: The photos above were taken after about 2 hours of wear. As you can see, the sides of the mouth where the most moisture sits started to wear down and distort the sticker. Not cute. The sticker was also hard to match to my lips.

These would be fun for a dress up party, and if I ever go anywhere dressed as a leopard they will be at the top of my list! Until then, I think I’ll stick with good old-fashioned lipstick!

xo

One thought on “A Sticker for your Kisser

  1. Pingback: Tutorial: Personalize a Plain Wooden Frame |

Leave a Reply

