Trending: The Evil Eye

I swear every time I try to buy something new I end up seeing it every where! Now the evil eye is no original feat – I’m pretty sure ebay is the last stop for the trickle-down effect. BUT, ever since I received it in the post I have been seeing them ev-er-y-where this season!! I found a lot of different information on the interwebs about the origin of the evil eye, but the more common claims include:

The eye stems back as far as the 6th century BC, most commonly found in the Middle-East and Mediterranean (Greece and Turkey), where it was used as a good-luck, or protection charm. The eye has become used for commercial purposes in modern Greece, while it is still a widespread belief in Turkey. Alternatively, it was said to cause injury or harm to those that the eye is directed at! Another source tells me that those with blue eyes were more prone to cast an evil eye on someone – hence the common blue colour choice!

Thanks Google!! 
Learning everyday!

My eye is brown to match my own, so I don’t think it means anything particularly evil… I like to think he keeps watch for me whenever I’m distracted.
evil eye

[ Now you’re officially educated on the subject, shop for your own evil eye! I’ll start you off with some of my faves… ]

evil, eye, jewellery, shop, online, evil eye

House of Harlow 1960 pave jewelry
houseofharlow1960.com

Gathering Eye evil eye ring
$14 – generalpants.com.au

Silver jewellery
karmaloop.com

Cuff bangle
insanejungle.com

Bracelet bangle
nastygal.com

2 thoughts on “Trending: The Evil Eye

Leave a Reply

