Things I will never understand about fashion…

1. One thing I will never understand is why designers try to make their runway models look as unattractive as possible.. I understand if they are trying to make a statement about a new style of makeup or hair – but keep it for pictorials, in my honest opinion. I have too many times searched for a collection, just to find a parade of asexual man-women. I don’t want to be a man, I really enjoy being a girl, why are you styling these clothes in this way? I am so confused!

modelstyle
Modelling as a teenager, I remember dreading runway shows. Too many times I had my hair slicked back, or worse poofed up like my fork had got stuck in the toaster, using handfuls of  moose, and nothing but one coat of mascara… why?? I stopped wanting my friends and family to come watch me because I knew I would look masculine and, well, unattractive. Bad memories. If I am ever lucky enough to have my own runway show (projecting good vibes!) I would style my models to look like super-hot-beach-babe-Victoria’s secret-style-goddess-amazon-mega-babes! Now THAT would sell clothes.

2. Fashions obsession with fur. YUCK. Are you serious? Why-oh-why do you have a desire to wear a dead animal on your back?? Wool? Great! Faux fur? Awesome! Skins and fur? No way!
But what makes fur a taboo, and leather ok? There are several reasons, the way I see it leather is an animal by-product, taken from animals used in the meat processing industry in which all parts of the animal are used for something. With fur, the animals are often raised and killed solely for the purpose of obtaining fur, while the rest of the animal is often discarded. Leather also has no man-made alternative, whereas there are many fake furs, and insulation material which actually surpasses fur for warmth and handle. ALSO many animals caught for fur are killed in inhumane means, such as traps. Where do you stand on the debate?
tumblr_ljtm47cWQm1qzwowd

3. Why do some people shave off their eyebrows, only to draw them back on? There were TOO many awesome pictures on the internet to explain this, but I don’t have the heart to name and shame. Instead, here are two patrons guilty for setting a bad example… Miss J. Harlow, and P. Anderson. Cheers guys…
Pamela-Anderson-appears-to-have-overdone-her-lipstick-at-a-gallery-opening-for-Terry-Richardson-in-West-Hollywood   Harlow - eyebrlowless - front view


4. 
And then there are these… and I don’t have all week! idontunderstand

One thought on “Things I will never understand about fashion…

  1. I could not agree with you more on the fur debate, it’s barbaric. I mean I understand that a long time ago fur coats were necessary, but now we have a lot more other alternatives. Plus, I think it doesn’t look too great either, wearing a dead animal.

Leave a Reply

