Made by me: Vintage crop top

I wish I had taken a before picture of the dress this came from!
It was a vintage full-length boho style dress of my grandmothers! This was when I was experimenting with elastic and turned the dress into a stretch bottom crop top, and elastic waist skirt. I like the sleeves as they are tight at the 3/4 length which causes them to bunch and ‘poof’ reminding me of Ezmeralsa from the Disney movie ‘Hunchback of Notre Dame’.
The crop top is shown here:

DSCN0127

My tip for sewing with elastic is to leave an opening at one end of your waistband, and then attach a safety pin onto the end of the elastic. This will make insertion through the waistband much much easier!

Leave a Reply

